The Cheers Effect

by

Clo lending a helping hand.

It has been a while since I have been actively playing WoW. I had no real intention of going back for the foreseeable future, but SOE’s recent hacker debacle has made playing EQ2 rather difficult. So having an itch to play something, I noticed that I had a game card laying around so I figured “what the heck,” and resubbed to WoW. I really didn’t have anything I wanted to do on my old characters and the now virtually disbanded Walk the Plank guild was not doing anything for me, so I decided to roll a Worgen character to see what that starting area looked like.

Along the way I noticed that Clo (a.k.a. Kaozz) popped online on the Alliance side and I said Hi. She invited me to join the guild she was in and needing a place to hang my hat I accepted. Although I do a lot of solo content, I really forgot how much I really enjoyed being in a guild where there is an active banter in the chat window and where someone is sure to say hello when you log in. You may never run into them “face-to-face,” but you hear from them all the time. I referred to this as the Cheers effect when I was talking to Kaozz and I really forgot how much this makes a difference to a game.

This experience also made me realize just how lonely my time in EQ2 is/was. I don’t regret being a virtual hermit; however, it really did make it obvious how much I was missing. Even if you don’t like to raid, group, or talk to other sentient life forms you are really missing out on a lot of what the MMO in MMORPG has to offer if you don’t have at least a couple of people around who “know your name.” Remember that the next time Lolapaladin or Eyecdedppl logs in, be sure to say heya. It truly does matter.

-Pid

PS Happy mother’s day to all the mothers out there; in whatever capacity you mother!

Tags: , , , ,


