[EQ2] Slowing Things Down

by

Just Horsing Around

Lately I have really slowed things down with my gaming. I haven’t trimmed the amount of time down that I have been playing, but more the pace at which I am doing things in game. I have been almost exclusively playing EQ2 as of late and it has been good. I really haven’t even been gaining adventure levels. I am taking things slow and enjoying the revamp to the crafting experience system.

For those not aware of the experience revamp, here is a small breakdown. Gaining crafting levels in EQ2 works  much in the same way as gaining adventuring levels and as a matter of fact, you can reach the same crafting level in game as the current adventure level cap. The great thing is, you can craft to cap and still be level 1 adventure-wise.

Previously, crafting worked in such a way that you would gain a small amount of experience from doing combines, but got a large bolus dose of XP when you crafted things for the first time. This made leveling up for some classes a heck of a lot quicker (if you had the cash for components) than other classes. As an example, a class like the sage which crafts spell upgrades would easily get in excess of 15 – 20 spells to craft at each crafting level. This meant the class got 15 – 20 bonuses to crafting. On the flip side of things, a provisioner who makes food and drink would only get 4-6 recipes per level.

In order to level up the classes with few recipes per level, you were required to perform crafting writs ad nauseam. Crafting writs are the equivalent of quests on the adventuring side, but sooooooooo much more boring.

So what did they do to the XP? Well the bad news is that every class pretty much now has to grind crafting writs. The good news is, it is cheap to do so (the writs more or less pay for the crafting materials except for harvests) and they modified the XP gain so that each combine is worth more XP and each writ completion is worth a ton of XP. At this rate you can gain a level in just 4-5 writs. This is very much faster than before.

So due to this XP revamp I have been leveling up all my alts in their respective tradeskills and really doing very little in terms of adventuring. The great thing is, that is about what I want out of an MMO right now. It may sound boring to some, but it is good for me. I really am quite pleased with EQ2 that it allows for alternatives to standard adventure/questing grinding. It might be grinding of a different nature, but I can watch TV at the same time or listen to a podcast or whatever and not have to pay a great deal of attention to the game. I am progressing in the game and I am only partially playing it. It is the ultimate in casual play, and right now that is what the doctor ordered.

I took some time out to do some of the Bristlebane Day quests, but now it is back to business. Oh a crafting I will go, a crafting I will go…Hi Ho! The dairy-o…a crafting I will go.

-Pid

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “[EQ2] Slowing Things Down”

  1. kaozz Says:

    It’s such a great game. I think what gets me is just all the tabbing out to find quests. I wish the game had a built in quest helper for more zones than it does. I get so overwhelmed with so many quests and then I start logging in less and less for a period of time.

    Glad you are still enjoying it! I still pop in on the EQ2X server. I need to poke in this week and check on my character.

Comments are closed.


