PAX East 2011 – Day 1 (Caution: Image Heavy)

by

Queue to get into the main exposition hall

Today I made my first foray into the event that is known as PAX East. It was a cavalcade of freaks, geeks, and zombies?!? It was a blast to say the least. One of the booths was handing out these paper traffic cones in support of Plants vs. Zombies. (I forgot how fun that game is.) Here is the line to get in…sadly I was not leading the pack here. Damn inability to wake up early.

Expo floor from above

I got into the expo and made a bee line to the SW:ToR booths. I felt like a kid on Christmas morning! The folks there released a new trailer for the game which you can find here. It looked cool as always. I was going to attempt to play a demo of the game, but the line to play it was immense and I wanted to do more than just stand in queue lines today. I did manage to get  a pic or two from the trailer as well as some in game pics.

Click on the thumbnails for enlargements. It is great to see HK in the game. He was definitely a fan favorite.

Later in the day Daniel Erickson showed off two of the worlds in the game. He showed the planet of Tatooine as well as Hoth. He was stressing the fact that these are vast open worlds and are by no means small. They did indeed look huge, but I’m not sure what they will be full of as many of the pictures showed a random NPC or PC in the screens, and a lot of nothing else. (Okay there was the occasional bantha.) Don’t get me wrong there were a couple areas that looked like they were bustling, but many of the others seemed sparsely populated. Perhaps they haven’t gotten that far yet.

I wandered around a bit and saw a number of interesting games that are soon to be coming out. There was a Duke Nukem Forever booth that you just couldn’t miss. In addition to all the props, there were three young women in school girl outfits posing around the site. I didn’t take any pictures, but they were definitely attracting attention.

The game looked stunning, but as far as game play goes I didn’t get my hands on it at all. Quite frankly I didn’t do a whole heck of a lot of testing today…I was just drinking it all in I guess.

I sat in on two presentations today. One was for the upcoming game Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning from 38 studios (you know the one that has Curt Schilling, Bob Salvatore, and Todd McFarlane on the payroll). I sat in on it, and it was pretty cool. It is a single player game in the same world as the upcoming MMO project currently being called Copernicus. I’ll try and give my thoughts on the game once I get home.

The other presentation was titled D&D Edition Wars. This one was a little bit disappointing, but was interesting nonetheless. Essentially it was a bunch of old timer D&D writers/developers sitting around reminiscing about old times. Again, interesting but not what I had hoped.

Well I should get off to bed if I am going to make it to Syp’s Blogger Breakfast tomorrow. Ugh…6:30 AM will come around awfully early. Hope you all are having fun wherever you are; I’m having a blast!

-Pid

Tags: ,


