[Rift] No Self Restraint

by

I have been meaning to post about my recent trip into Telera for a while now. Last weekend I decided I had finally had enough reading about this awesome game that everyone was playing and decided to see for myself what was what.

I was trying to avoid playing rift for a couple of reasons, none of which had anything to do with the game. First of all, I preordered Dragon Age II and I figured that would pretty much eat up the second half of March and early into April. I am attending PAX East this year and I assumed that would take up a week of my time with preparation, attendance, and then decompression afterwords.  Finally I was holding out hope that SW:TOR would be coming out sometime in spring, but it does not look as if that is going to happen.

In any event, I preordered Rift because in the end, I have no self restraint. Also, when I get bored, I go through a stage where I buy a bunch of different stuff just to see if that will fix the boredom. It never does and I will never learn.

So what did I note about the beta? This was my first trip so I can’t comment on the changes in the beta, but I can give an overall impression of the early content.

  • The game seems pretty noob friendly, even for people who have never played an MMO before.
  • The nuts and bolts of the game is WoW. Not to say the game is just WoW with space tentacles ripping through space time, but most of the controls seemed to mimic WoW. Open your inventory with the “b” button. Bring up the soul system with the “n” key. This is probably a good thing because there is a lot of non-WoW concepts of the game that you have to learn.
  • The soul system is a neat concept for progression, but it seems a little confusing because of the sheer volume of choices. It seems like you could royally gimp a character, but then again none of the choices are permanent like in DDO or something.
  • The art style is very dark. I kept thinking of the Witcher the entire time I was playing. The graphics are pretty good, but the art style might be a little too depressing for me.
  • The game seems to have pulled a 2004 WoW in that it has cherry picked a lot of the concepts of other popular games and incorporated them into itself. Public Quests from WAR, collections from EQ2, the UI is very much WoW. It is all put together very well though and kudos for Trion Worlds for the polish in the game.
  • The race choices are very limited, and they all look like variations on humans.

The game seemed like a lot of fun with what little I managed to play it. I have no idea about high level content or crafting though. I didn’t get into any dungeons either. The Rifts were fun and the invasions that I saw were an interesting mechanic. The place was so populated with beta testers though I wonder what it will be like after a month or two of live play.

-Pid

 

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “[Rift] No Self Restraint”

  1. Victor Stillwater Says:

    Great post!

    Are you looking for a guild, btw? 🙂 I’m in one now. 😀

    • Pid Says:

      Sure, lemme know what server and the name and all that. I keep pretty funky hours, so you might be the only one I see online, but being in a guild where I know at least one person would be great!

Comments are closed.


