DCUO a Couple of Thoughts

by

Clearly this post is just an excuse to post a pic of the wonder twins!

I read an article about DC Universe Online today in PCGamer and I am intrigued by a couple of things that are planned with this game. The game really wasn’t on my radar, but as I am trying to fill out some 2011 goals, I thought that trying this game out might be a good break from my normal fantasy style MMO’s. Anyway, here are some things I found interesting about the game:

  • You can play as both heroes and villains: I guess that makes sense, but I would have figured they would have added villains later as an expansion.
  • SOE is planning on having a fully fleshed out endgame when the game goes live to the point that half of the content at launch will be endgame content.
  • Piggybacking on the previous point, the intention is to have the time it takes to get to level cap take about 40 hours of game play. Even a casual gamer could reach level cap (which is 30) in 1-2 months. This is a bit of a disappointment for me as I like the leveling game and playing lots of alts.
  • Duos: Dynamic or otherwise, there are instances at level cap that only require two people to enter. This is awesome and I wish more games had something like this. Most games it is pointless to group with a friend or two to run quests, but you just don’t have enough people to run a dungeon w/o looking for more people. Often you can run lower level dungeons, but the rewards are … well, lower level. Apparently these “duos” are to train you to do the 4-man instances later, but I really hope they take off so that more games might copy the idea.
  • The 4-man instances are designed to take 1-2 hours to play through. This seems a little excessive and will prohibit the casual player (translation: me) from being able to do too many of these.
  • Raids are 8-man instances and the game will launch with 3. At least with only 8 people required to run a raid, small guilds and possibly PUGs will be able to run them.
  • Dual role system: Each character will have a DPS “spec” and another “spec” based on character generation. This is definitely a good thing. This way you will be able to solo in DPS role and then switch to whatever your other role is in order to form groups and whatnot. This will definitely eliminate the lack of Tank/Healer/CC characters because every character created is one of those three AND they can DPS as well.
  • Anyone can perform a resurrection: Well, if dungeons alerts will take 1-2 hours, it makes sense. This should eliminate having to run all the way back all the time when the stealthy character survives, but can’t revive anyone.
  • Instances will not have the same bosses each time: There are more bosses slotted for each instance than the number of boss encounters, so it will be somewhat random which one pops for each instance run. This should at the very least make the instances a little less “grindy” considering it appears that is what the focus of the game is going to be.

There is a lot more about the game that I still need to investigate, but this is a short list of some of the content that the game will offer. I don’t know how long I’ll be able to play a game that is so endgame focused and also has 1-2 hour instances (except the duos I forgot to mention they are designed to be shorter). It could be a great time though and at the very least, you might be able to punch a wonder twin and wipe that stupid grin off of their faces!

-Pid

Picture source: KryptonSite.com

Tags: , , ,


