WoW and EQ2, What They Can Learn From Each Other

by

Since I have been playing a lot of WoW as of late, I can see why it is such a popular ride. It is fun and it is streamlined, and it is polished to a brilliant sheen. (Definitely not Charlie or Martin Sheen) I have had moments when I think that WoW could learn a thing or two from EQ2, a game I hold in very high esteem as well. Here we have a list of things that the MMO’s could borrow from each other to spruce up the place.

What WoW can learn from EQ2

  • Revamp Travel: If you are one of the old EQ cronies that sit on their porch and spout off about back in your day you used to have to travel through 12 zones just to reach a trainer and then back through them to grind mobs again, please ignore this. Otherwise, what is the deal with having to watch the rear end of a bat/griffon for 3-6 minutes as your character physically flies through all of Orgrimmar. I know the zones are seamless and that is a great thing and all, but from level 30-60 when you actually have to travel to get to appropriate zones…it blows. The travel revamp in EQ2 made it so you could get anywhere inside of about 2 minutes.
  • Crafting: What is great about EQ2 crafting? No, not the stupid minigame that you have to do in order to craft, but rather the fact that you can make a character for no other purpose than to craft your way to the level cap. If you are bored with dungeon running and don’t feel like questing, you can switch to a crafting alt and watch TV and make some stuff. You can actually accomplish something without having to tell your group mates sorry we wiped, I was watching American Idol.
  • Player Housing and Guild Halls: This one kind of goes along with crafting, but sometimes I just want to be creative in a game. Your house is  a great place to spend some time and effort in the game when you just feel like playing Sims for a bit. You can display trophies and cool things you find while playing and it gives you a place to call “yours” in a game that is largely out of your control.
  • Cosmetic Gear: There is no better way to express yourself than customizing the way your avatar looks. As it is now, there is so little customizing that can be done with WoW characters, it would be nice to at least dress differently.
  • Necromancers: OK this one will never happen, but I would rather my pet classes not be so prim and proper and have fuzzy little bunnies as pets. I will hold out hope for some of the others on this list, but this is just a personal request. Heck, Mr. T. got a Mohawk class.

What EQ2 can learn from WoW

  • Dungeons: Many people hate the dungeon finder because of all the jerks that they meet along the way. I didn’t like EQ2 dungeons that much because they were too long and drawn out. Mind you I didn’t run any instances, but the dungeons I did run were just too random and lacked focus. That and it was tough to find people to play them. As much as Dungeon Finder attracts jerks, it is handy for finding a group.
  • Direction: Now I know WoW is a game on rails, and now more so than ever, but there are a number of areas in EQ2 that I had no idea where I was supposed to go or what I was supposed to do. Grinding mobs through these areas is soooooo slow, that it is not an option, so if you aren’t running quests it can make the process rather a drudgery. They attempted to fix this problem with the Golden Path initiative, but I’m not sure if it has come to fruition. I ended up leaving the game when I got to the Kingdom of Sky zones and just felt lost.
  • Fewer or More Unique Classes: EQ2 has a ton of classes, and normally I would say more is better. In this case it is not. Why are there two warrior classes? One is supposed to be more DPS oriented than the other, but couldn’t they just do that with the way you spec your AA’s? Why do they have like 4 rogue classes? I know some of them are good/evil race dependent, but why?
  • Dual Specialization: This was something that was rather prohibitive when it was introduced in WoW from what I gather. It was really expensive game currency-wise and you didn’t get it until you were pretty high level. Now you can get it at level 30 for like 10 gold or something. It really makes the game more accessible. Feel like tanking a dungeon tonight? Protection Spec. Feel like soloing? Fire up the DPS spec. I realize that there is a house item that you can get to change specs in EQ2, but it is rather expensive, you can’t buy it on the market, and it is just not public knowledge for most new players.
  • Silliness: I had seen a few quests here and there that were pretty amusing. There was one where the award was a “chokeball” that housed a pet lizard. I don’t think that EQ2 should be all silly, but a few tongue in cheek quests would make it a little more lighthearted and fun in Norrath.

I could probably go on further, but then I would be getting very nit picky. So these are the things that I would consider good features to trade between the games. Here are things from a Pid’s perspective, what do you think?

-Pid

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “WoW and EQ2, What They Can Learn From Each Other”

  1. Outlandish « The Meat Shield Says:

    […] I mentioned in another post, traveling in the 1-60 zones gets pretty ridiculous at level 30 or so. I really didn’t like […]

  2. Miki (@mikiRamm) Says:

    I’ve been playing both WoW and EQ2 for several years. They’ve both got their style in roleplaying and being online. They’re both so different, but at the same time not. While I was playing EQ2, I got WoW and wondered what I liked the most. WoW’s more cartoon-ish style got more interesting with the dungeon finder and stuff (except all of the morons, noobs and trolls who join). I prefer WoW tho.

Comments are closed.


