FreeQ2

by

So what the heck? I go away on a work trip for a week and I come back to find out that EQ2 is going FreeQ2. Well at least in part. I really haven’t had time to look at the pricing scheme, but what I don’t get is that they are releasing this F2P version in addition to their subscription model. I see this as a rather unfortunate idea as veteran players who might want to play with some of their friends who are casually playing EQ2 can’t play on the same servers. I currently am going through a little bit of MMO burnout, so I can see how this model would be good in the long run, but why can’t I take my current account and use it as a F2P one? We’ll see how this shakes out. I’d guess that a number of server mergers are on the horizon for the subscription servers as the population begins to dwindle.

On a side note, the prediction I had for Blizzard and WoW way back when might come true for EQ2 instead. Is there an EQ3 in the works?

-Pid

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “FreeQ2”

  1. Matty Says:

    To play on the F2P model will cost more in the long run, you have to purchase the races you want, the classes you want past the base class…

    They can’t increase the cost of the current model past 15 dollars so this was their only alternative, sadly their game isn’t making them as much as it use to and so they want to kill off what theyh ad and create something new.

  2. Twan Says:

    There is a chart floating around that shows the difference pricing scheme’s. It’s nutz!

Comments are closed.


