Dragon Age: the Sequel

by

Well, I guess it is only fitting that the day after I mention that I will buy Dragon Age 2 when it comes out, BioWare decides to actually reveal some data on the new sequel and give a release date!

Bioware’s website and IGN are reporting the following:

Experience the epic sequel to the 2009 Game of the Year from the critically acclaimed makers of Dragon Age: Origins and Mass Effect 2. You are one of the few who escaped the destruction of your home. Now, forced to fight for survival in an ever-changing world, you must gather the deadliest of allies, amass fame and fortune, and seal your place in history. This is the story of how the world changed forever. The legend of your Rise to Power begins now.

Key Features:

  • Embark upon an all-new adventure that takes place across an entire decade and shapes itself around every decision you make.
  • Determine your rise to power from a destitute refugee to the revered champion of the land.
  • Think like a general and fight like a Spartan with dynamic new combat mechanics that put you right in the heart of battle whether you are a mage, rogue, or warrior.
  • Go deeper into the world of Dragon Age with an entirely new cinematic experience that grabs hold of you from the beginning and never lets go.
  • Discover a whole realm rendered in stunning detail with updated graphics and a new visual style.

Of note, point number 3 is a huge, HUGE point of interest for me. The first time I played through the game (well the only time I made it all the way through really) I played as a warrior. One of the few things I disliked about the game was the fact that you had to micro manage the mage(s) in your party so much that I really didn’t have a lot of time to focus on playing me my character. If I wanted to play a mage named Wynn or Morrigan, I would have rolled one. Hopefully they addressed this problem in the new game. I am curious to see if this game will have less of a party dynamic because of this though.

Anyway, the projected release date for the game is in March of 2011 so it is only 7-8 months away. Keep checking the site as they are releasing a trailer for the game on 8/17/10.

-Pid

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Dragon Age: the Sequel”

  1. We Fly Spitfires Says:

    Very excited about Dragone Age 2. The first one was good but not perfect and ultimately became a bit of a grind. I’d definitely like to see a sequel explore more innovative design options.

  2. Dragon Age Contemplations « Says:

    […] recently commented about the Dragon Age sequel that was recently made public and I was pretty excited about it until I read an awesome post by […]

Comments are closed.


