Beholder What Eye Hath Seen

by

Ok, stupid title I get it…

Anyway, I think I may have gotten some of the MMO weariness out of my system by playing a few single player games over the last week or two. I poked my head into EQ2 today and I was trying to finish off a quest in Enchanted Lands. In any event, I came across this mob that was the heir apparent to Dungeons and Dragons’ beholder. Funny enough when you defeat it, it’s eyeball pops out of it’s head!

Click to Enlarge

This made me ponder that as much as I thought DDO is a decent game, at least to me EQ is the spiritual embodiment of D&D in an online medium. While it does lack a lot of the dungeon delving (though it does have it) that is iconic in tabletop D&D I think it does capture the essence of the fantasy world and class selection, and to a lesser degree the story telling nature. I know many would argue that last point, but I believe SOE is trying to mend that fence in its revamping of the leveling progression and newbie experience. I don’t know, I may be way off base here, but it wouldn’t be the first time right!

-Pid

Tags: , , ,


