Scorpion the TOR Bounty Hunter

by

As mentioned at Bio Break, ITG, and Darth Hater there is a new video out containing a bunch of footage about combat in the upcoming BioWare MMO, Star Wars: The Old Republic. It was about 12:30 AM when I started watching it. I had just gotten home from work and I was scarfing down a Southwest Turkey Salad and I almost had to wipe ranch dressing off of my monitor when I saw the Bounty Hunter’s ability to grapple their opponent. The only thing that came to mind was “Get over here!” as made famous by Scorpion from Mortal Kombat!

I’m worried that if I play that class I will spend most of my night saying “cummere” and freaking my sleeping wife out! On the other hand it does look pretty cool.

The devs were explaining how combat animations were really great and if you were a force wielder you wouldn’t just look like you were swinging a sword back and forth all day. While it did look like the animations were more complex than just waving the light saber back and forth, they didn’t seem that much better than any other game…at least to me. The game as a whole does look pretty cool though and the interactions between characters looked pretty synced up. I’m not sure if the video was displaying PvP or PvE, but if the PvP animations work that well at release I will be rather impressed.

I must give props to the developers though, they have made quite an effort to make the non-force using classes look appealing to play. The trooper has this massive gun that I’m sure will be the brunt of many an off color comment, the smuggler or agent (not sure which) has a portable shield generator that they can crouch behind for cover, and the bounty hunter has missiles! Let’s see Masewindoo or Yoduh deflect a missile with his light saber!

-Pid

Tags: , , , , , ,


