Everquest 1: Losing its place

by

I’ve loved video games for as long as I can remember… original Nintendo, Gameboy, SEGA, SNES, N64, PS2, Wii, PS3 and Xbox 360. I like a wide variety of games, but it seems that I find one, MAYBE two titles per console that I love and will play the ever loving crap out of them. With the NES it was Legend of Zelda. I’ve played it through probably 300 times by now (yes, I still play it). On SEGA it was NHL 92 (I think that was the year). On N64 it was Goldeneye 007 & Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time.  On Xbox and Wii my big games are Resident Evil 4 & 5 and Call of Duty: MW and MW2.

As I’ve said before, I find one or two games I really enjoy and I play every little thing about the game. More recently in my life, mainly due to being able to afford an actual gaming PC, I’ve started playing PC versions of games. About 3-4 years ago, I started in on a whole new type of game, one I’d never really paid any attention to; MMORPGs.

Everquest 1/Classic/Old (whatever you like to call it) was my first MMO, introduced to me by my brother. I was unsure how much I was going to like a game I had to pay for every month. As you can imagine, I tried it played a few different classes and races and VOILA, I was hooked. At this time I was working full-time for a major computer manufacturer, but I was working 3 or 4 twelve-hour shifts. So I had plenty of time to play EQ on my days off, and I did. I would spend hours and hours grinding out levels and AAs. I made a few good buddies in the game, two of which I still talk to. One of those good buddies is the main contributor of this blog.

I played EQ1 a ton; I had an account full of characters that differed in race, class, and deity orientation. In my opinion there were no other games on the PC for me to play, anytime I was playing a game it was EQ. After a few years I grew tired of the seemingly endless grinding, antiquated graphics, dated UI and the ever annoying lack of people willing to group with anyone outside their guild or friends list. Even with all of that considered I did, and still do, have a special place in my heart for EQ1. It’s my first MMO, the one that started it all for me, the game that showed me that I’ll be paying a recurring fee for a video game for the rest of my life. After toying around with a few MMOs that had me uninstalling them mere hours after their download, I went back to EQ until…..

About a year ago Pid and I started on an epic quest all our own: the search for the game that would replace EQ1 for us, for good. We stumbled upon DDO (Dungeons and Dragons Online) and enjoyed the fact that it was free and did not have the suck factor that most other free games did. After our DDO excitement fizzled, we eventually found our way back in the neighborhood of Sony Online’s Everquest franchise. This time, however, we were downloading a trial of Everquest 2. After just mere hours of playing, I think we both knew that we had found our replacement. After the trek of games we played through, it wasn’t too difficult to make the call. Everquest 1 sucked royally in many departments, all the other games we tried were barely entertaining but Everquest 2 pretty much improved on the game we liked initially.

A few months later, bringing us to present day, we’re still solely involved in EQ2. I’m enjoying the absolute crap out of the few hours a week I get to play. It gives me a chance to go away from real life for a few moments and I get every bit of gaming excitement out of it that Everquest 1 brought me. All things considered Everquest 1 still holds a special place in my heart, but its real estate is dwindling. Moral of the story: Even though it’s a bit dated, try out Everquest 2. If you don’t like it, try out Everquest 1, it’ll make you love the sequel.

