EQ2: Department of Gnomeland Defense

by

I finally made it, Adventure level 32! I decided to reward myself with a horse. I looked into my bank and found a bunch of rare resources that I could live without and sold them to make enough cash to buy Ol’ Blue here. As I mentioned in my last post, I had planned on starting to adventure down EQ2’s “Golden Path” this week. The requirement for doing so is to reach level 32 and then go talk to a quest NPC that lurks near the zone line to Lesser Faydark and Steamfont Mountains. From there he tells you to meet him near the Gnomeland Security Headquarters. “No sweat,” I thought. I was feeling pretty good about my ability to solo in Butcherblock, let’s move on. It was not long before I found the Gnomeland Security Headquarters via their graveyard!

Apparently, the Golden Path has a few kinks that need to be worked out. If Sony is intending on having this be an avenue to take new players from newbie status to level cap, they may want to alter this area a little bit. Essentially, Steamfont mountains is designed for characters level 35-36+. At first I thought, no biggie, I was kicking level 34 mobs in the tail in BB Mts. I can do this…I was wrong. I did a little research and via an EQ2 soloers timeline I realized that I could do some leveling in the Enchanted Lands and/or Zek. As it turns out, I had to go to these places to do some harvesting for a crafting quest anyway. So off I go to kill some badgers and fairies in Enchanted lands until I am beefy enough to follow that yellow brick road again.

Despite this little hiccup, I am still having a great time playing. I am moving along at a  nice pace where I can adventure some days, craft other days, and group up with a friend of mine once in a while when he is able. We just got our group characters up to level 17 and I am anxious to try a dungeon soon. The solo content is a little too weak for the two of us. We are also anticipating a third soon, so it will be ridiculous here soon to continue down the solo line of quests. One thing I will note though, is that while grouped last night, it seemed as though the Adept Spells were dropping like crazy. This rarely happens while I am soloing, so I can definitely see the advantage to doing the whole group thing! Hopefully I will have more to report soon.

-Pid

Tags: , , ,


