Quest Info on the Run

by

As much as I like a good story, I must admit that I am guilty of just clicking my way through quest texts in order to speed the process. I have to hand it to Syp, as he writes in his recent post Quexting, that he finds himself looking forward to reading the quest text in Fallen Earth. This made me start to think, is there a way to have our cake and eat it too?

I know there are plenty of people that don’t like voiced content in games because often when it is bad, it is really bad. Let’s just say that our MMO of choice actually hires a decent voice actor for this idea. Anyway here is my idea:

Quest Info on the Run

What does this mean? I imagine there a quite a few people out there similar to me who would like to know what the quest text says, but really just don’t want the break in the action that reading it requires. Enter our aforementioned voice actor. You go to the quest hub, get your quest as normal, and then head out to go kill your ten rats. The difference is that when you have the quest active in that game’s version of a quest helper, the game plays the voice acted recording of the quest text with a simple keystroke! As you are out killing your rats you can actually hear why it is that you are doing it. Call it the drive-through window of questing.

I imagine for some quests it may not be appropriate, but I think it could be a cool feature to add some value to an MMO game. Perhaps if I find out that the rats keep thieving aunt Millie’s braziers because they are trying to construct a Ratapault instead of just knowing that some old woman wants me to kill some rats, I will form more of an attachment to the game. I dunno, what do you think?

-Pid

Tags: ,


