Something Old, Something New…EQ2

by

After kicking myself repeatedly for not ponying up the whopping $5 required to purchase EQ2 over the holidays and after reading Syp’s post about it, I decided I would make a new SOE account and try it out for free for 14 days. I guess there is something in the air because Stillwater has been doing the same thing.

I have been trying to get the most out of my free trial so I have leveled up 4 characters to the early teen level. I have started in a couple of different locals and tried out a couple of different races. I have tried a tank, healer, Ranged DPS, and Melee DPS character so far and I am really liking what I have seen. As mentioned in this background post, the MMO I spent the most time playing out of all of them was EQ1. I really had a lot of fun in that game, but the fact that it is terribly painful to look at, is very grindy, and doesn’t have a lot of the modern features of today’s MMO’s I had to bid it goodbye. I still miss it from time to time, but I just can’t see paying a sub for it anymore.

I had heard that EQ2 is a great game now, but was plagued by a lot of issues at the start. Couple that with the fact that my time away from MMO’s has made me miss them a bit and the MMORPG that I am really holding out for recently announced it’s not coming around ’til 2011 I decided to fool around with an EQ2 trial account. After all it’s free right. What did I have to lose.  Apparently $36 plus shipping because I just preordered the new expansion! I have been impulsive in the past, but this time I figured I did my due diligence in investigating the title ahead of time so I am pleased with the purchase and am anxiously awaiting my package from Amazon.com.

Just a couple of thoughts on the game so far…

The graphics aren’t spectacular, but good enough compared to EQ1 to not make me want to rip my eyes out.

The quests are pretty typical, but give some pretty decent loot so as to make them desirable.

There are a ton of classes…I like lots of classes as I tend to be an alt-a-holic at times

The good/evil factions were annoying at first, but once you realize there is an equivalent good class for each evil class it is tolerable.

The UI is meh, but with a little tweaking is workable without any addons.

Group play seems decent, but I have only done a small amount of that.

Anyway, my trial ends next week, so I want to get a character up into the late teens or so to see how the game progresses after the newbie levels. I have already committed to play with my old EQ1 group, but I think it will be a good time.

-Pid

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Something Old, Something New…EQ2”

  1. victorstillwater Says:

    Hi there Mr. Meatshield! 😀

    I noticed a pingback on my blog and decided to check your post out. I hope you’re having fun out there in Norrath again, and I look forward to reading more about your adventures in the trial (and beyond!).

    I just wanted to ask though, are you on twitter, by any chance? I have no recollection of a meatshield anywhere on my twitter account, so maybe if I’ve seen you there, you’re using a different name. 🙂

    Lastly, what server are you playing on? If you’re on Lucan D’Lere, maybe we can group up sometime once I get back in the game! 😀

    • Pid Says:

      Sadly I have barely enough time to post on this blog, so I don’t tweet. My blog is rather new so no surprise you have probably never seen it.

      Anyway, I have 5 days left on the trial unless I sign up under a new account. I was playing on Nektulos but I am not committed to any server so Lucan is as good as any.

      A buddy of mine also committed to playing, but he has a small IT business that keeps him busy a lot.

      I’ll be sure to look you up when I get my real account next month. I’m pretty excited about playing again.

      One word of caution though, I work from 4PM to 12AM ET so I generally don’t play during the week until 1 AM.

      I’ll post more adventures when I get them!

      -Pid

  2. victorstillwater Says:

    Hi Pid. 🙂

    I’m waiting for the expansion to come out before I commit to a subscription, so I’ll probably be online next month as well. In any event, I’ll add you to my blogroll so I can read more about your adventures.

  3. Back in the Saddle Again with Everquest 2 « Says:

    […] release of Sentinel’s Fate, I have officially started my EQ2 subscription yesterday. I had tried the game via a 14 day free trial, and decided it was time to give it an official try. I hope to start making […]

Comments are closed.


