A Long Time From Now…

by

It’s no news flash that Star Wars: The Old Republic has been lost in hyperspace until 2011 sometime. I’ll avoid the cliche Obi Wan quote and just simply add that I am a bit disappointed, albeit not surprised. I’m pretty sure Blizzard timed the release of the WotLK expansion right around the touted WoW killer WAR release. It would only be suicide to launch your new MMO in the vicinity of the highly anticipated Cataclysm expansion. Go BioWare!

I have read a lot of TOR bashing in the last few months and I am trying not to let it get to me. I am also trying not to get too psyched for this game, but it is difficult. This announcement might help though simply because now I know there is at least a year plus before this game will launch. I was planning on not really getting involved in any new MMO’s before TOR launched, but now knowing that it is pushed back quite a bit, I don’t think I can just single player game it until then. I’ll be needing some MMO action here and there to fill in the gaps.

So what is a guy to do? I have played a little Allods Online and it seems interesting, but I really haven’t played too long. It seems a little like FreeWoW to me, but then again I never played WoW past the free trial period so how am I to know if that is accurate. I’ll continue with the beta a little bit, but not if the game doesn’t pick up a little. I am currently only level 5 or 6 (can’t remember) so I’m sure there is a lot more to see that I have yet to get to.

I have been toying with the idea of subbing to WoW for a little bit, just so I can see what all the hubbub is about. It seems to be occupying a lot of the game worlds attention as of late (well, even more than normal). I am finding it difficult to find a lot of time to play games these days so WoW might just be easy enough for me to feel like I have accomplished something if I can only log in for an hour here or there.

I have sort of lost interest in DDO. I think the game would be great if you had a dedicated gaming group, but the few PUGs I have been in leave a lot to be desired.

I played one evening of STO beta and I was less than captivated by it. I set my computer to download the open beta client while I am at work, so maybe I’ll give it another shot…but I don’t have high hopes.

So what do people think out there? Should I pick up a new MMO, or just stick my head in the sand and continue to wait for TOR to launch?

-Pid

Tags: , , , ,


