Why TOR Needs Tatooine

by

I know I am a bit of a Johnny-come-lately on this subject, but due to the maelstrom of issues I’ve had of late with being sick, computer problems, holiday craziness, and terrible laziness I really wanted to put my $0.02 in on this subject. That subject being the inclusion of Tatooine in Star Wars: The Old Republic.

Personally I would be very disappointed if they had not included the location in the game and I am very pleased that they have put it in. Despite the arguments that the location is cliche, overused, bland, ugly, and etc. I think the game needs Tatooine for the main thing that it provides. Tatooine to me is “home” for the Star Wars universe. Yeah there are cooler things out there than Tusken Raiders and who really wants to be a moisture farmer anyway, but think back to when you were a kid and watched Star Wars for the first time. Where did it all begin?

Tatooine

Whenever I have played a Star Wars game, I always get this warm feeling about me whenever it takes me to Tatooine. When you inevitably walk into the Mos Eisley Cantina and hear the music from the Bithians playing in the background it takes me back to when I was a kid watching Luke start off his adventure into the galaxy. When I played Star Wars Galaxies for a brief time I played a Wookie crafter that lived on Tatooine. Crazy enough, at the time the largest population of players was on Tatooine as well. I didn’t play the game long enough to learn if there was a better reason behind it, but I always attributed it to familiarity. In an MMO where so much is unknown to a new player, it was nice to see some familiar sights.

So I don’t think that the game should focus on Tatooine or even make it a major point of interest, but in my Star Wars games, give me some Tatooine so I can hyper in, hang up my blaster, and take a load off in the cantina. Heck, maybe I’ll find me some cute Twilek to settle down with and farm some moisture!

-Pid

Tags: , , , ,


