The End of an Age…a Dragon Age that is!

by

It’s official, I finally finished Dragon Age: Origins last night. It was a good time and I had to blow off a friend to do it, but it was worth it…wasn’t it?

To be honest, the ending left me with a ho-hum feeling. I see SynCaine over at Hadcore Casual had some of the same thoughts as I do, and Tipa at West Karana also had some more thoughts in her review of the game. Don’t get me wrong, I still think this is a great game and I already started replaying it as a bad guy this time (or rather a bad woman). I guess the ending just didn’t live up to the goodness that the rest of the game offered. It reminded me of the movie adaptation of Stephen King’s IT. Not the story mind you, but rather the feeling I got watching it as a kid. The movie had me terrified to go to bed at night for days (it was released as a TV miniseries; I was 12 or 13) and then I saw the ending and all the fear that I had was gone in an instant as the actors punched the snot out of a poorly animated spider thing to kill “IT”.

What I’m getting at is that though the final battle and the epilogue, it kind of erased all the coolness from the story that had been told before. Anyone else feel like that? I thought the rest of the story was great, but the ending needed a better writer! I wanted a Se7en or The Sixth Sense ending, but instead I got IT. Is it a coincidence that the last time I felt this way was when I played KOTOR II? That game was touted as being rushed out the door for Christmas, was this one too?

Anyway, like I said, I still think it is a great game and worthy of another play through, but please…please people finish the story with some panache rather than the equivalent of a sign that reads THE END.

-Pid

Tags: ,


