Do you want to play this (offensive) level?

by

Have you purchased Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 yet? I just did, and if you haven’t, you’re missing out. I will do a more in-depth review when I complete the game but, for now, this will have to suffice. I bought the Xbox 360 game, and have played through about 6 missions. I also devoted some to the Xbox Live portion of the game. Across the board this is the best FPS I’ve ever played.

There is something to be said about a game that contains a level offensive enough to warrant a prompt asking you if you want to skip the level at no penalty to the game play. Not to give away to much, but in the 4th mission you go undercover as part of a CIA op and buddy up with a high-stakes terrorist. In order to maintain your cover, it’s a game of monkey-see, monkey-do. Everything they do, you better damn well do it, or you’re dead. (I’ve spent some time in the military, and plan on working in the intelligence community someday, nonetheless, this level made my skin crawl.)

The graphics in this game are even better then CoD4:MF. The detail is amazing on the characters, weapons, vehicles, and buildings. Some new features, in the latest installment of the CoD Series, are:

The ability to use Predator UAVs to drop some serious weapon payloads on some enemy b****es, different handgun stance
A new stance when holding the handgun, you hold the handgun in your right, your left forearm rests under your right one, and you hold the knife in your left hand, allowing for super-quick slicing and dicing.

New item: Riot Shield, protects you from front from just about everything. Visibility sucks after it’s been pelted with a few hundred bullets. You can’t shoot when using it, but can use it as a melee weapon.

Heartbeat sensor weapon add-on: On a cold and icy mission, you make use of a heartbeat sensing screen affixed to your rifle allowing you to be warned of oncoming baddies who aren’t happy to see you, should you forget to look at the sensor, like I did 🙂

I played CoD 4:MF and there is a fair amount of down time between heated battles. If you didn’t play it, I’m not saying that you had time to make in-game dinner in between missions. If you played it, you know what I mean. Modern Warfare 2 is NOTHING like that. If you’re not knee-deep in bodies, it’s because you are outrunning a few hundred rounds with your name on them.

OK, enough talking about it! Go buy it, and play it. Cause that’s what I’m going to do!

