Dragon Age Headaches

by

So I have managed to cram in about three hours of dragon age over days one and two and thus far the game is visually awesome, the story rocks, the combat is very satisfying, and the setting is a neat twist on the standard fantasy theme. So why the headaches (no not because I have a job and family that won’t let me play it 24×7)? Apparently there is some form of bug in the coding of the game or Win7 that is making it very difficult to play at times.

I run an AMD Phenom 9600 quad core processor and a GeForce GTX 260 video card with 4 gigs of RAM on Windows 7 Pro 64-bit and when I load the game and through the origin story, the game ran great on near max setting at 1600 x 1050 resolution. After I got to the next section Ogrimar or whatever, my computer just started running like a dog to the point where the game was unplayable and also the load screens would churn on for 5 minutes or more. CTL+ALT+DEL got the load screens through, but the game still ran like  a dog. After closing the game and reloading it it ran fine for another half an hour or so and then the same thing happened. Apparently in the forums there are a lot of reports of this happening, and I am uncertain exactly where the common theme is. Hopefully the game can be patched soon (Bioware is a aware of the problem) as I am having a blast in the game so long as it is running well!

Two thumbs up for the game when it is running…I definitely recommend it!

-Pid

Edit: 11/6/09 I have learned of a workaround that “fixes” this problem. See here.

3 Responses to “Dragon Age Headaches”

  1. A Dose of Guilt in DA:O « The Meat Shield Says:

    […] The Meat Shield Standing in harms way so you don't have to! « Dragon Age Headaches […]

  2. Aspirin for Your Dragon Age Headache « The Meat Shield Says:

    […] well as slowly deteriorating performance issues in Dragon Age: Origins as described in my earlier post, I have tried the workaround posted in the forums here and it appears to have worked […]

  3. DA:O 1.02 Patch « Says:

    […] for Dragon Age. It addresses a few bugs and some balancing issues, but still does not address the memory leak problem with AMD multi-core […]

Comments are closed.


