Always Be Prepared to Back Up a Statement

by

I was talking to a couple of guildies last night (MMOGC and Pagan) and I mentioned that I really didn’t care that much for GW2 and one of them asked me why. Simple enough question right? Well to be honest I really hadn’t stopped to think about it. So I paused a second and hemmed and hawed for a few more while trying to formulate a response.

Now I know that I really don’t enjoy my play time in the game, so it’s not like I am just trying to be contrary or anything. It seems from what I have read and what I have heard, that the majority of people playing the game find it enjoyable. I just don’t when I play it. So why is that?

Well, what I managed to formulate in that brief few seconds of stammering and pontificating is that I really like the progression in games like EQ or WoW or SWTOR. This game just really doesn’t have that same feeling. I need a carrot to keep me interested. I couldn’t care less about getting pets or mounts or completing every achievement or, in this case, filling in all the hearts on a map. I have to feel like I am making progress in my character in order to keep me logging in. I’m weird what can I say. In GW2 I just feel like the progression is too “amoeboid” for lack of a better term.

Oddly, when I started playing The Secret World I felt kind of the same way at first. It took me a couple of hours to fill in all my action bar. Now what? Once I started pursuing my Exorcist deck, I had a quantifiable goal that I could see results in. I could replace some of the lesser skills with better ones as I unlocked them on the wheel. Once I figured that out, I was good to play.

The other thing that I have realized is that I really like having a specific role to play. I like being the healer or tank or CC guy. DPS really isn’t my thing. I’m not saying I am an awesome tank, just ask MMOGC, I am saying that I like to know what my role is and not have it be so nebulous. Everyone run in and we’ll just rez the people that die…blech!

Anyway, I’m not bagging on the game or saying that it isn’t good. It is … just not for me. I know I probably haven’t played it enough to have a true perspective, but there are so many games, why should I play one that I am not having fun with? I hope everyone else has fun playing it though!

 

-Pid

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Always Be Prepared to Back Up a Statement”

  1. Mekhios Says:

    That’s a fair comment. We have some guild members who have stopped playing GW2 for the reasons you’ve mentioned above.

    I personally like the casually nature of GW2.

  2. mmogamerchick Says:

    Yeah, I like playing GW2 for its casual nature as well, and that I can play free after I bought it. Good thing too, because even though I think it’s a great game, I personally wouldn’t pay a sub for it if it had one. And by the way, you ARE an awesome tank. You were just out of practice that day, that’s all ;)

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

